Coon Rapids City Council

The Coon Rapids City Council comprises a mayor and six Council members who serve four-year staggered terms with elections in even-numbered years.

The Mayor of Coon Rapids is Jerry Koch. Council Members are Steve Wells, Ron Manning, Denise Klint, Jennifer Geisler, Wade Demmer and Brad Johnson.

The Mayor and Council are responsible for the efficient operation of the city government through policies and ordinances that are carried out by the City Manager. Specifically, the Council is responsible for budgeting, taxation and management of city property. The Council is accountable to the residents of the city. The Council meets the first and third Tuesdays of each month at Coon Rapids City Hall, 11155 Robinson Drive.

The Council holds other special meetings from time to time. Regular Council meetings begin at 7 p.m. Agendas for meetings are available before each meeting. The agenda includes time for public hearings on subjects such as proposed ordinances, planning and zoning matters, assessments and public improvements. Routine business is placed on a “consent agenda”, which is considered and approved by one motion at the beginning of each meeting. Any member of the Council may remove an item from the consent agenda for discussion and action. Other agenda items include public comment, bid awards, recommendations and reports, Council and City Manager's comment and a special segment called "open mic" devoted to hearing concerns of Coon Rapids Citizens.

To conduct business, the Council must have a quorum. Four Council members constitute a quorum. A majority vote of the Council is needed to approve most motions, ordinances and general resolutions.

Message from the Mayor

Jerry Koch, Mayor of Coon Rapids

Welcome to Coon Rapids! We are delighted that you have selected to learn more about our community .

Coon Rapids is ideally situated near the Twin Cities and is the gateway to the northern part of the state. We offer wonderful amenities for everyone to enjoy, including the Mississippi River for fishing and boating, hiking and bike trails, a nationally-recognized municipal golf course, regional parks, indoor and outdoor ice rinks, baseball, softball, and soccer fields, tennis courts, and skateboard parks. We are proud of our community and believe that you will share our pride.